FAQs : Contest Activities : A PDF Print
Sunday, 03 October 2010 23:33
A1 Q: Can we lift 3 Joss Sticks from three different pots?
A: Yes, you can. As long as the 3 Joss Sticks belong to your team.
A2 Q: Can a manual robot pick up three Joss Stick Pots together?
A: Yes, you can.
A3 Q: While placing Joss Sticks, if we placed 2 Joss Sticks successfully but failed in the 3rd one, do we have to place the three all over again? Or can we bring single Joss Stick from Joss Stick Pots and can place them?
A: You don’t have to place three Joss Sticks all over again. You can bring one Joss Stick from any Joss Stick Pots to fill in.
A4 Q: Can we use hand controlled clutch wires?
A: No, you can’t use clutch wires. In case of the clutch wires mean drive by wire.
A5 Q: Can we lift 3 Joss Sticks from 3 different Joss Stick Pots?
A: Yes, you can.
A6 Q: Can we earn the scores, even if the completed Krathong touches the River Bank before dropping to the River Surface?
A: Yes, you can. However, If you touch the River Surface, this will cause a Violation.
A7 Q: Are we allowed to do the task stated in Rule 5.3 before completing the task stated in Rule 5.2? If we are not allowed, how can't the Automatic Robots even collect Krathong Petals and Flowers?
A: Yes, it is allowed.
A8 Q: If we do NOT place the two Krathong Petals and two Flowers to finish the task stated in Rule 5.3, can we get points!
A: The points will be calculated from the number of Krathong Petals and Flowers placed on the Preparation Points. You don’t have to place the two Krat hong Petals to finish the task.
A9 Q: How do you set the Joss Stick Pots, Krathong Petals and Flowers at the start of the match? Please explain the direction of the following in detail. 1) the direction of the three Joss Sticks placed in the Joss Stick Pot
2) the direction of the four petals of the Krathong Petal
3) the direction of the three holes for placing Joss Sticks

A: Please see Figure pastedGraphic_1.pdf pastedGraphic_2.pdf pastedGraphic_3.pdf pastedGraphic_4.pdf
Link to Figure 1:
http://www.aburobocon2011.com/figures/Figure01-Field-Informations.pdf
A10 Q: Can we choose how to arrange the Krathong Petals and the Flowers in the Storage Points or will they be arranged by the referees?
A: At the start of the game the Krathong Petals and Flowers will be arranged correspond to the Figure 1 by referees then after the game start you can request a Retry to adjust to your own position.
A11 Q: Is it permitted to load batteries of the Manual Robot into the controller?
A: No, the batteries must be loaded into the robot according to human safety.
A12 Q: Can the operator of the Manual Robot shoulder batteries of the Manual Robot?
A: No, the batteries must be loaded into the robot according to human safety.
A13 Q: Can one team make more than one Krathong in the same match and drop them in the river, and will the team take points for this or not?
A: Yes, you can. Please see Rule 7.3.4
A14 Q: What about making more than one uncompleted Krathong, is there any points for that or not?
A: Yes, the points will be given (according to the rules 7 Deciding the Winner)
A15 Q: Do we get points if we have one of the other team’s Joss Stick Pots in our Storage Points? Can we put it on any Poles?
A: If you bring 3 Joss Stick Pots in your Storage Points and place in Common Zone successfully, your point will be gained. See rules 7.2.1
A16 Q: After placing the 3 Joss Stick Pots in their respective places, can the Automatic Robots go and get Krathong Petals and Flowers from the Storage Points ?
A: Yes, they can. The Automatic Robot can start immediately after the Manual Robot finish placing 3 Joss Stick Pots and the Referees give the signal. See Rule 5.1
A17 Q: Can the Manual Robot lift up completed Krathong?
A: No, it can’t. If so, it is considered as a Violation Rule 9.11
A18 Q: For the rule (6-11) If the referee removed the dropping Krathong out of the game area so at that moment the total points will be as it is or will be ZERO?
A: The score remains as before.
A19 Q: According to rule (6-4) this point means that the Manual Robot can be retried during the match and the place of retrying is at the Manual Start Zone or this means that it cannot be retried during the match except before it starts its work and still at the Manual Start Zone.
A: The Manual Robot can retry any time of the game.
A20 Q: Can I bring small tools with me to fix the robots during the game or retry?
A: Yes, you can.
A21 Q: When can the Automatic Robot start its mission? After the Manual Robot finishes placing the Candle Base? Or after it picks up the three Joss Stick Pots?
A: The Automatic Robot can start immediately after the Manual Robot finish placing 3 Joss Stick Pots and the Referees give the signal. See Rule 5.1
A22 Q: Will the red pot in blue zone or the blue in red one will be placed in corner or center of the three pots, will it be always same or will we be allowed to set them?
A: The position of all Joss Stick Pots will be arranged as shown in Figure 1 and FAQ A24.
A23 Q: Is it OK if the Automatic Robots are doing their tasks while the Manual Robot picks up the Candle Base?
A: Yes, but be careful. Should the Manual Robot touch the Automatic Robot either directly or indirectly, it will cause violation.
A24 Q: About Rule 5.1. How does the Manual Robot have to place Joss Stick Pots at Poles in order to get points and perform other tasks? For example,
1) Do we have to keep Joss Stick Pots horizontal?
A: Yes,
2) Are we permitted to place Joss Stick Pots in pile at one Pole?
A: No,
3) Do we have to detach the Manual Robot from Joss Stick Pots?
A: Yes,
4) Do we have to make the bottoms of Joss Stick Pots touch Upper Surfaces of Lower Sections of Poles?
A: Yes,
A25 Q: After the Manual Robot finishes placing Joss Stick Pots at Poles, when are we allowed to start the Automatic robots? Does the referee give us any sign?
A: The referee will be raising the signal flag.
A26 Q: Do we have to keep the Candle Base horizontal all the time till it is placed in the Decoration Point?
A: In order to score, the Candle Base must be placed horizontal in the Decoration Point.
A27 Q: Are Automatic Robots allowed to collect Krathong Petals and Flowers before the Manual Robot finishes placing Candle Base?
A: Yes, after finishing task on Rule 5.1
A28 Q: About Rule 5.3 While one Automatic Robot is collecting Krathong Petals and Flowers from Storage Points and carrying them to Preparation Points, can the other Automatic Robot move up the Sala?
A: Yes, after finishing the task mentioned under Rule 5.1
A29 Q: When the Automatic Robot drops the completed Krathong on the River Surface, is it allowed to accelerate the completed Krathong downward and drop it?
A: Yes, as long as it does not cause any damage game field according to Rule 10.1
A30 Q: Is it allowed for the Automatic Robot to collect a Candle Light Flame before the other Automatic Robot finishes the task stated in Rule 5.6?
A: Yes, after finishing task under Rule 5.1
A31 Q: If it is allowed, is it allowed for one Automatic Robot to drop the Candle Light Flame on top of the Candle right after the other Automatic Robot dropped the completed Krathong on River Surface?
A: Yes
A32 Q: Rule 5.10 allows the Automatic Robots to do any tasks of the Manual Robot. But Rule 5.1 forbid the Automatic Robots to do other tasks before the Manual Robot completing its task. I think these two states contradict each other. Please explain.
A: The Automatic Robots can perform any task mentioned under Rule 5.1 of the Manual Robot.
A33 Q: Rule 6.9 allows us to bring the Joss Stick Pots back to the Storage Points of the Joss Stick Pots if the Manual Robot drops Joss Stick Pots. Then, is it permitted to bring the Joss Stick Pots back from the opponent team's area if the Manual Robot drops Joss Stick Pots in the opponent team's area?
A: Yes, this is a violation and team members must ask for a Retry.
A34 Q: If we place only one Joss Stick Pot at the same Pole twice, can we get twice as many points?
A: No
A35 Q: When "Loy Krathong" is achieved, are 300 points given additionally to the points given until then?
A: No, the total point is 300 points for the team who achieve "Loy Krathong" Please see Rule 7.3.3
A36 Q: At the end of the 3 minutes match, in case both sides of teams cannot achieve Loy Krathong and earn the same score, which team is the winner?
A: This regulation will be announced soon.
A37 Q: Should the Manual Robot pick up three Joss Stick Pots and place them at any Poles in the Common Zone at a time?
A: It is ok to pick up the Joss Stick Pot(s) and place them on the Pole(s) in the Common Zone one by one or three of them at a time.
A38 Q: Can we place 3 Joss Sticks into the Flower before finishing the completed Krathong?
A: The Krathong will not be ‘completed’ until three Joss Sticks are placed into the decorated Krathong.
A39 Q: Can the Manual Robot carry three Joss Sticks at only one phase (only go and back)?
A: Yes
A40 Q: Can we put the Flowers and Krathong Petals together on Candle Base?
A: No, you must put Krathong Petal first and then Flower sequentially as per Rule 5.4
A41 Q: Is it necessary to decorate the Krathong by climbing on the Sala or it can be done by staying below?
A: Yes, it is necessary to decorate the Krathong on the Sala.
A42 Q: Does Manual Robot bring Candle Base while Automatic Robot collect Krathong Petals and Flowers?
A: Yes
A43 Q: Is it necessary for Automatic Robot to move up Sala to drop the completed Krathong on River Surface and drop the Candle Light Fame?
A: Yes, the Automatic Robot must move up to Sala to do that task.
A44 Q: When in the phase of Automatic Robot collecting Krathong Petals and Flowers, must the Automatic Robot place two sets of it to the Preparation Points before the Automatic Robot can proceed to stacking up the Krathong Petals and Flowers at the Decoration Point?
A: Not necessary.
A45 Q: Is the Manual Robot allowed to climb up to the Sala area?
A: No,
A46 Q: Can the two Automatic Robots touch each other?
A:Yes,
A47 Q: When the Manual Robot finishes placing three Joss Stick Pots at Poles, aren't we regarded to complete the task stated in Rule 5.1 after that we drop some Joss Sticks from Joss Stick Pots?
A: Yes, you are regarded to complete the task. But it will cause violation in case of you drop the opponent Joss Sticks (according to Rules 5.5 and 9.11).
A48 Q: Can the Manual Robots pick up Joss Sticks before laying the Candle Base?
A:Yes,
A49 Q:Can we pick the Joss Sticks before decorating the Krathong?
A:Yes,
A50 Q:If some tools or equipments are dropped, who will place them at respective places? Team member or referee?
A: In case of meaning of tools or equipments is “The Contest Tools”. Team member can pick up any contest tools except the contest tools that dropped into the River Surface or the opponent area which will be picked up and place by the referee.
A51 Q:Can manual robot take candle light flame from the storage point to give to automatic robot?
A: No, the Manual Robot cannot intentionally touch Candle Light Flame or Kratong Petals or Flowers.
A52 Q: After manual robot was switched to become automatic robot, when it happened to restart from where it will restart?
A: Any Automatic Start Zones.
A53 Q: In rule 10.4, it is written that the team has made a false start for three times in the same match it will be considered in disqualification. Can you explain that about those 3 times? If all robots started falsely respectfully one times, is it considered as this disqualification? If one robot started falsely three times, is it considered as disqualification too?
A:All included
A54 Q: If the Manual Robot is switched to automatic robot, is that switched robot allowed to touch to River Surface?
A:No,
A55 Q: Can any robots pick up Joss Sticks from the Common Zone before placing candle base at a decoration point?
A:Yes,
A56 Q: According to the answer in FAQ A10. “A: At the start of the game the Krathong Petals and Flowers will be arranged correspond to the Figure 1 by referees then after the game start you can request a Retry to adjust to your own position.” What do you mean “to your own position”?
A: “To your own position” means that the orientation of the Krathong Petals and Flowers at the Storage Points can be adjusted. However, the team members do NOT allow to change the order of arrangement for the Krathong Petals and Flowers as stated in Rule (Figure 1)
A57 Q: Can the Automatic Robot help the Manual Robot to brings three Joss Stick Pots and places them at any three Poles in Common Zone?
A:No,
A58 Q: If we have 1 Manual Robot and 2 Automatic Robots and later we switched the Manual Robot to become an Automatic Robot as mentioned in rule (5.11), then there is 3 automatic robots?
1)Is this case permitted?
A: Yes,
2) Or, is rule (5.11) only for the case that we have 1 Manual Robot and only 1 Automatic Robot?
A: No,
A59 Q: Can we do like the animation where one of the 2 automatic robots moved up the Sala before placing any of the Krathong Petals or the Flowers in the Preparation Points?
A:Yes,
A60 Q: I have 2 questions:
1)Is it compulsory to place the 2 Krathong Petals and the 2 Flowers in the Preparation Points before dropping the Candle Light Flame on the completed Krathon?
A: No,
2) Is it enough to place only 1 Krathong Petal and 1 Flower?
A: Yes,
A61 Q: From rule(3.5.3) We don't understand the meaning of "Each team is encouraged to decorate this Upper Surface with flowers. The decorated flowers can only be used for decoration purpose and cannot be used strategically for the contest”?
A:The decorated Flowers can be used to represent your culture but cannot be used to get the advantage purpose of the competition.
A62 Q: What will be the referee decision if our Manual Robot and the opponent team Manual Robot reaches the same Pole in the Common Zone at the same time and there was inadvertent touching between them.?
A:The decision will be made by the Referee.
A63 Q: It is written in Section 5 that the game should be completed in a certain "order". I want to ask about 5.2 in which it is written: "The Manual Robot brings the Candle Base and places it at the Decoration Point on the sala" and then 5.3: "The Automatic Robots collect Krathong Petals and Flowers from the Storage Points and move on the ground field only before placing them at the Preparation Points" My question is:
1)Can Automatic Robot (instead of manual; as any auto robot can do any function of manual according to rules) picks the Candle Base and move up the Sala and place the Candle Base at the Decoration Point?
A: Yes,
2) Can Automatic Robot place the Candle Base on the Decoration Point being on the ground field (without moving up the sala)?
A: Yes,
3) At the same time when Automatic Robot 1 is picking up the Candle Base from the Storage Point, Can the Automatic Robot 2 pick up all 2 Krathong Petals and 2 Flowers from the Storage Points?
A: Yes,
4) Can these two actions be made simultaneously or Automatic Robot 2 has to wait until the Automatic Robot 1 has placed the Candle Base on the Decoration Point?
A: Yes, the two actions can be made simultaneously.
A64 Q: My question is about 5.4: It is written that the Automatic Robots move up the Sala and "bring" a Krathong Petal and Flower. Is it a MUST that the Krathong Petals and Flowers can be brought to the decoration point only on Sala?
A:Yes,
A65 Q: If a team places Krathong on the River Surface successfully, but due the jerk of placing other teams Krathong the first one falls down,
1) Will the fallen Krathong earned points?
A: Yes, the earned points still remain. But if a team ask for a retry, the completed Krathong will be moved to the Decoration Point and the earned points will be deducted
2) Will it be penalty to other team?
A: No,
A66 Q: During the process Automatic Robot collecting Krathong Petals and Flowers and placing them at Preparation Points, Can the manual operator control the Manual Robot go to collect the Joss Sticks at the same time?
A:Yes,
A67 Q: Can the Automatic Robots collect all 2 pairs of Krathong Petals and Flowers from the Preparation Point at the same time?
A:Yes,
A68 Q: When can the assembly of the Krathong start?
A:When one set of Krathong Petal and Flower are placed at the Preparation Points, you can start assembling the Krathong using them.
A69 Q: Rule 6.11 says “During dropping the completed Krathong on the River Surface, if any parts of the Automatic Robots or the Krathong held by the robots physically touch the River Surface either directly or indirectly, this action causes violation and a retry is compulsory”. When dropping the completed Krathong on the River Surface, it is impossible for the Krathong to touch the River Surface physically. How can understand the statement “.....or the Krathong held by the robots physically touch the River Surface……causes violation……” in Rule 6.11?
A:The completed Krathong must be dropped above the River Surface then the Robots will not touch the River Surface directly or indirectly.,
A70 Q: Do the Automatic Robots have to start from the same Start Zone through all games?
A:No,
A71 Q: After the Manual Robot was switched to become an Automatic Robot. Is the rule 9.4 applied ?
A:Once the Manual Robot is switched to be an Automatic Robot, it is allowed to do the task in the rules of Automatic Robots.
A72 Q: A team that successfully drops a completed Krathong into the River Surface can be scored 150 points, and dropping the Candle Light Flame on top of the Candle in the completed Krathong floating on the River Surface and remaining Candle Light Flame on top for 3 seconds makes it gain 50 points, that is, total 200 points. It achieves “Loy Krathong”, a total score of 300 points is given to it according to Rule 7.3.3. That is to say, the team that achieves “Loy Krathong” will be awarded 100 points. Let’s imagine such a situation. A team successfully drops a completed Krathong into the River Surface, then, as a strategy, the Candle Light Flame is not dropped, and the team turns to assemble the second Krathong. After it completes the second Krathong and drops the Krathong into the River Surface successfully, it gains 92 points. Then, the team drops the Candle Light Flame on top of the Candle in the completed Krathong floating on the River Surface and remains Candle Light Flame on top for 3 seconds, it gains 50 points also. At this time, the team gains 292 points totally. Will the awarding points of 100 for achieving “Loy Krathong” be added to it?
A:The team that achieves “Loy Krathong” will get 300 points.
A73 Q:Rule 7.2.4 says “Automatic Robots successfully stack a Krathong Petal from the Preparation Point on the Candle at the Decoration Point”. Should the word “Candle” be the “Candle Base”?
A: Candle is a part of Candle Base, Please see Rules 3.5.1 (4)
A74 Q: If the rules from 5.1 to 5.7 are enforced, Can the next task be completed before the last task is completed?
A: The task of 5.1 must be completed successfully first. Then you can start working on any tasks mentioned under 5.2-5.7 in any order.
A75 Q:Rule 7.2.3 says that, if Automatic robots successfully collect 2 Krathong Petals and 2 Flowers and place them at 4 Preparation Points, the team scores 40 points. Can the team collect and place only 1 Krathong Petal and 1 Flower?
A:Yes,
A76 Q: Suppose our Manual Robot picks up three Joss Stick Pots and places them at any three Poles in the Common Zone, but drops a Joss Stick on its way to the Common Zone and cannot pick it up and insert it into the Pot. In this case, our Automatic Robots cannot start and perform their tasks, according to Rule 5.1. But, according to Rule 7.2.1, our team can be scored 16 points. Right?
A: Yes, you earn 16 points.
A77 Q: The three Joss Sticks has to be picked up once or can be placed one by one in decorated petals?
A:Both cases are allowed.
A78 Q: Rule 5.10 says “The Automatic Robots can do any tasks of the Manual Robot”. Can they do the task to put 3 Joss Stick Pots to the Common Zone? If it can, it goes against Rule 5.1.?
A: No, the Automatic Robots cannot do the task to put 3 Joss Stick Pots to the Common Zone.
A79 Q: When placing Krathong Petal or Flowers in the Preparation Points, can we use any of the poles? If so, after placing one Krathong Petal on one of the poles, can the robot on the Sala pick it up and then place another Flower on the same pole?
A: The team can decide which and how many poles to use among the 4 poles in the Preparation Points. It is OK to achieve the task of placing Kratong Petal or Flower using the same pole at different time. (Please see rules 5.3 to refer to this answer)
A80 Q: If the Candle Light Flame is dropped on the robot or Krathong, not on the River Surface or the Field, can we reuse the dropped Candle Light Flame?
A: If the Candle Light Flame is dropped or placed on the robot, the team can reuse the Candle Light Flame. If the Candle Light Flame is dropped or placed on any other places, the Candle Light Flame CANNOT be reused.
A81 Q: If the objects such as Krathong Petals and Flowers are dropped on the Field, Do we always have to ask for a retry?
A: Not necessary, if Robots can pick up any dropped objects (except for the Candle Light Flame) inside its color’s game field, you can continue the game. Or the team can ask for a Retry.
A82 Q: Is it allowed for the Automatic Robots to place the Candle Light Flame tentatively on the one of the poles in the Preparation Point?
A: No,
A83 Q: Please clarify the conditions for achieving each task.?
A: The conditions for achieving each task are as follows. Points will be given when the judge’s flag is raised.
1) Regarding Rule 5.1
The task will be achieved when all of the following conditions are met:
-When the Joss Stick Pots are placed on the Poles in the Common Zone, the bottom surface of the Joss Stick Pots must be completely in contact with the upper surface of the lower part of the poles.
- All of the 3 Joss Stick Pots are placed on the Poles in the Common Zone and the Manual Robot goes completely out of contact with the 3 Joss Stick Pots.
- Among the 3 Joss Stick Pots placed on the Poles in the Common Zone, you must insert 3 Joss Sticks in each of the 2 Joss Stick Pots of your team color.
- Among the 3 Joss Stick Pots placed on the Poles in the Common Zone, you must insert 3 Joss Sticks in the Joss Stick Pot of your opponent’s team color.
2) Regarding Rule 5.2
The task will be achieved when all of the following condition is met;
- When the Manual Robot places the Candle Base on the Decoration Point horizontally and goes completely out of contact with the Candle Base.
3) Regarding Rule 5.3
The task will be achieved when the following conditions are met;
- When a Krathong Petal or Flower is placed on the pole of the Preparation Point, the bottom surface of the object must be completely in contact with the upper surface of the lower part of the poles.
- When a Krathong Petal or Flower is placed on the Preparation Point and the Automatic Robot goes completely out of contact with the Krathong Petal or Flower.
- You must place only one object (one Krathong Petal or one Flower) on one pole. However, once the object is picked up from the pole, it is allowed to put another object on that same pole.
4) Regarding Rule 5.4
The task will be achieved when all of the following conditions are met;
- When the Automatic Robot on the Sala picks up a Krathong Petal or/and Flower from the Preparation Points.
- When the Automatic Robot piles a Krathong Petal on top of the Candle Base. Then the Automatic Robot piles a Flower on top of the Krathong Petal. The Krathong Petal must be placed successfully onto the Candle Base before piling the Flower. It is not allowed to start inserting the Flower into the Candle if the Krathong Petal is not placed successfully on the Candle Base yet.
5) Regarding Rule 5.5
The task will be achieved when the following condition is met;
- When the Manual Robot picks up Joss Sticks of your team color in the Common Zone and inserts 3 Joss Sticks in the 3 holes of the Krathong which is placed horizontally on the Decoration Point and the Manual Robot goes completely out of contact with the Krathong.
6)Regarding Rule 5.6
The task will be achieved when all of the following conditions are met;
- When the Automatic Robot successfully drops the completed Krathong on the River Surface without touching the River Surface.
- When the bottom surface of the dropped Krathong is completely in contact with the surface of the River Surface.
7) Regarding Rule 5.7
The task will be achieved when the following condition is met;
When the Automatic Robot successfully drops the Candle Light Flame from above the completed Kratong on the River Surface without touching the River Surface or the completed Krathong, and the Candle Light Flame remains on top of the candle for 3 seconds. (Regarding to the Amended Rule 7.2.8)
A84 Q: What happens if Joss Stick Pots fell down while collecting Joss sticks?
A: Team members can ask for a Retry for bringing the fell down Joss Sticks and Joss Stick Pots back to the previous position.
A85 Q: Can we Pick Joss Sticks From Joss Stick Pot Before Placing Candle Base at Decoration Point?
A: Yes,
A86 Q: What happens if the team drops any objects into the opposing team area?
A: This causes a violation 9.2 and Team members can ask for a Retry. The Referee will bring the dropped objects in the opposing team area back to the previous position.
A87 Q: Can the Robots touch any poles standing along the side of the Sala?
A: Yes
A88 Q: Can the Manual Robot place 3 Joss Sticks to the decorated Krathong out of the Decoration Points?
A: No
A89 Q: Can we attach something on the top of the Completed Krathong other than the Candle Light Flame, like a color sticker or any thing for the detection of movement when the Krathong is placed on the River Surface?
A: No,
A90 Q: About rule 5.5 and 5.7. Can the Automatic Robots brings two Candle Light Flames and any parts of the incomplete Krathong at the same time?
A: Yes
A91 Q: About rule 5.4. After we have placed the Candle Base at the Decoration Point. Can we take it up again to decorate the Krathong Petals and the Flowers outside the Decoration Point?
A: No,
A92 Q: About rule 5.4. Does the Automatic Robots move up the Sala only by the way of moving through the Ramp?
A: Yes
A93 Q: Can we place 3 Joss Sticks into the Flower before the Flower decorated on the Krathong Petal?
A: No,
A94 Q: Does it cause violations if the River Surface is swung by the wind produced by the robots?
A: Yes,
A95 Q: When Automatic Robot is placing Krathong Petals and Flowers on the preparation points, is it allowed that part of the Robot is in the space above the Sala?
A: Yes,
A96 Q: While the Automatic Robots are stacking a Krathong Petal on the Candle Base at the Decoration Point on Sala, Can any parts of the Automatic Robot enter in the space above the Ground Field?
A: Yes,
A97 Q: Is the Automatic Robot allowed to move up the Sala through ramp with the Candle Base and to place the Candle Base in the Decoration Area?
A: Yes,
A98 Q: Can the Automatic Robots decorate the Krathong on the Candle Base which is being held by the Manual Robot?
A: No,
A99 Q: Can the Automatic Robot stack up the Krathong Petals and Flowers together prior to decorate the Krathong on the Sala?
A: It is OK, however to assemble the Krathong, first you have to stack up the Krathong Petal on the Candle Base. Then place the Flower on top of the Krathong Petal. You must not start inserting the Flower before the Krathong Petal is completely placed on the Candle Base. (Refer to FAQ A40)
A100 Q: Is there any sequence to pick the Joss Stick Pot like 1st blue then red then blue by the Manual Robot?
A: No,
A101 Q: How many robots (manual and automatic) can stand on the Sala Area at the same time?
A: Manual Robot is NOT allowed to stand on the Sala but all Automatic Robots are allowed.
A102 Q: Can I use micro switch on manual robot after start?
A: Yes, you can. But please refer to the amended Rule 5.14 ‘Team members cannot touch any robots except during starting operation or retry.’
A103 Q: Can I use rubber band or spring for the actuators in the Manual Robot?
A: Yes,
A104 Q: Can the Automatic Robots move over the 10 mm wall around the Decoration Point or is it considered a violation?
A: The Automatic Robots can move over the 10mm wall around the decoration point. It is not a violation.
A105 Q: Can an Automatic Robot move up the Sala (without any object) immediately after the Manual Robot is through with its first task (placing Joss Stick Pots in Common Zone), even if The Krathong Petal / Flower is not in the Preparation Zone?
A: Yes,
A106 Q: If our Automatic Robot holds the completed Krathong but drop it on the floor on the way to the River Surface, and the Krathong Petal, Flower, Joss Sticks and Candle Base are all separated, Can we still have all scores gained in the assembly of Krathong?
A: Yes,
A107 Q: Can the Manual Robot and Manual operator move up Sala?
A: No,
A108 Q: Does the Automatic Robot have to be on the Sala during decorating Krathong Petal and Flower?
A: Yes,
A109 Q: After the first set of Krathong Petal and Flower are lifted up from Poles for decorating purpose.
1) Is it allowed the next set of Krathong Petal and Flower to be placed on the same poles as the previous position?
A: Yes,
2) How do you count the scores in case of number 1)?
A: The points will be scored when each object is placed on the pole.
A110 Q: While the Automatic Robot is decorating Krathong Petal and Flower, is it allowed if some of the parts of the Manual Robot should enter the Sala or its space above?
A: Yes,
A111 Q: Can the Krathong Petal be just above the Flower when the Flower is being placed on the Candle Base?
A: No, please refer to the Rule 5.4
A112 Q: Is it necessary that the Automatic Robot lift up both Krathong Petal and Flower before decorating to the Candle Base?
A: No, it’s not necessary. The Automatic Robot can lift up Krathong Petal and Flower one by one or together. But the sequence of decorating is the Automatic Robot(s) must put Krathong Petal first and then Flower on to the Candle Base.
A113

Q: According to the answer in FAQ A83 (6. Regarding Rule 5.6). “When the bottom surface of the dropped Krathong is completely in contact with the surface of the River Surface”. Please clarify the meaning of “completely in contact”?
A: “Completely in contact” means that the bottom surface of the dropped Krathong is touching the River Surface. It is OK if the parts of the dropped Krathong should overhang the River Surface. (Please see Figure)

completely_in_contact

A114 Q: After successfully placing the completed Krathong on the River Surface, the team failed to put the Candle Light Flame on the Krathong and asked for a retry. Is it allowed for the team members to touch and change the direction of the Krathong on the River Surface?
A: No, it is not allowed for the team members to touch the Kratong on the River Surface.
A115 Q: After completing the 2nd Krathong on the Decoration Point, we failed to place the 1st completed Krathong on the river surface and asked for a retry. In this case, is it possible to return the 1st completed Krathong to the Decoration Point? If so, where should we move the 2nd completed 
 Krathong and what will happen to the score?
A: The team member can return the 1st completed Krathong to the 
 Decoration Point by asking for a retry. To return the 1st completed 
 Krathong to the Decoration Point, Automatic Robots must move the 2nd Krathong to somewhere on the Sala/game field of its team color. Once the 2nd completed Kratong is removed from the Decoration Point, the earned scores still remain, then the team member can ask for 
 a Retry and if it is granted, the member can manually put the the 2nd 
 completed Krathong back to the Decoration Point.
A116 Q: According to the Rulebook, the Manual Robot should not extend over 2m cylindrical shape. Does it mean it is OK as long as the robot doesn’t extend beyond 2m during the game? Can we use a robot whose arms can extend up to 3m when both right and left arms are fully extended but it will not extend beyond 2m during the game?
A: No, you cannot use such robot in the game. The Manual Robot must be within the 2m cylindrical shape when all of its structure and arms are fully extended.
A117 Q: In case of failure to drop the completed Krathong and the Krathong touches the River Surface, can we reuse that dropped Krathong?
A: No, once the Krathong touches the River Surface, that Krathong cannot be used again during the game.
A118 Q: Can we remove the Candle Base which had been placed in the Decoration Point and place it somewhere on the floor of the Game Field?
A: If the Automatic Robot removed a Candle Base which had been placed in the Decoration Point, the team can get scores by placing a new Candle Base in the same Decoration Point using either Manual or Automatic Robot.
A119 Q: Please clarify the activities of inserting the Krathong Petal and Flower?
A: When inserting the Krathong Petal and Flower into the Candle, the bottom surface of the Flower can be in contact with the top surface of the Candle. However, you cannot start inserting the Flower before the Krathong Petal is completely inserted into the Candle. (Please see Rule 5.4 and FAQ: A 83/4)